New Year, New You Bull Crap

So I had my annual physical with my doctor last Friday. My blood pressure was so much better thanks to the second pill he put me on to take care of my headaches. My sugars were perfect (my dad’s siblings are pretty much all diabetic so it’s a concern for me). My cholesterol was borderline. The carbs/sugars were TWICE what they should be. If I can’t get it under control by our next visit in April I’m going to be put on ANOTHER medicine to help control it. This is NOT what I wanted for my life, a pill for every problem!

TWICE.

FML, folk.

Everything he listed (bread, pasta, cakes, cookies, potatoes) are staples in my diet. Literally 80% of what I eat was listed. He just trashed pretty much everything I eat.

What am I supposed to freaking do?

He said look at the paleo diet. Meat and veggies. Meat and veggies. So I got a few books from the library and started doing some reading. It sounds good but totally not feasible for my lifestyle. Not that I can’t eat the stuff it’s just the time to prep the food, check all the labels in the grocery store, spend hours searching for recipes that are easy to make but don’t take 5 hours and a ton of ingredients that cost a fuck ton.

So I threw paleo out of door and am sending the books back to the library with my mother. It’s just not going to happen, sorry folks. Those that can and do follow paleo, more power to you, but it’s not for me. And the changes have to be sustainable and realistic for me and my life. Paleo doesn’t fit.

But eating a freaking salad everyday for lunch and dinner isn’t going to cut it either. I HATE salad, the things I have to add to the salad to make it edible (cheese, dried cranberry, sunflower seeds and dressing) make it not so healthy any more.

My go to lunch: soup and a sandwich. A FREAKING SANDWICH.

Really, ya’ll.

So that’s my life right now. Lots of cranky feelings. I realize I need to approach these changes with a positive attitude otherwise I’m going to fail and backslide quickly. But I’m like a little kid, they’re taking away my comfort blanket and I’m cold and cranky and HUNGRY.

Best part, I went to the store with my mom yesterday. She was buying for the house, I was just buying for myself for the week or so of lunches at work. My cost :$77 Hers:$85.

So this is going to be hard AND expensive.

If you see a lot of tears and bitching and moaning about little things, bear with me. My body is crying out for carbs and I might lash out. It’s not you, it’s me, literally.

Leave a Reply

